In the Portland, Oregon area reputable personal injury attorneys do not charge for an initial consultation and do not charge hourly fees if you decide to hire them. Instead of paying hourly, fees are normally a percentage of any recovery that the lawyer is able to achieve for you. Fees range from 25 percent to 40 percent depending on the case and time required to achieve a recovery. If you do not get a recovery there are no attorney fees. Reputable personal injury lawyers also advance the costs of litigation. This is because the legal process is expensive and our clients cannot afford the out-of-pocket litigation costs.
Some claims may require that the other side pay your attorney fees or that they be assessed penalties or punitive damages if your claim is successful. It is worth noting that in Oregon punitive damages are taxed at a rate of over sixty percent. The State of Oregon uses their large portion of punitive damages awards to assist crime victims and to fund the judicial system. Punitive damages arising from federal law claims may not be subject to such a “split recovery statute”.